Synopsis (from Amazon):

Holliday follows the infamous 1880s gambler, dentist, and gunslinger, Doc Holliday. From the outset, Doc has been diagnosed with tuberculosis and is told to head to drier climates and imbibe to prolong his life. He has also heard of a spring located somewhere along the frontier that could cure him—what he believes to be the mythical Fountain of Youth. 

The novel portrays Holliday as a rock star, a living legend, increasingly hounded by paparazzi, enamored by death, cards, booze, and women. Doc is a mixture of Clint Eastwood and Jim Morrison, and though he is able to help his friend, Wyatt Earp, exact revenge, his condition worsens, traveling from Arizona to Denver, and finally dying in a sanatorium in Colorado with his boots off. A slow and unfitting end for such a bombastic outlaw.

I love a fun Author interview… Check this one out!

On writing:

How did you do research for your book?

I inhale anything I can find. Old news articles, biographies, movies…I want to know what’s been said, what’s true, and what’s in the zeitgeist so I can either lean toward or away from it. Luckily there was a lot on Holliday. 

Which was the hardest character to write? The easiest?

Doc was the easiest. He’s just so fun. 

Big Nose Kate was the most challenging because she’s so many things at once: a prostitute, foreign, educated, in love, detached, abusive, caring, strung out, strong and constantly in danger. She’s a charlatan that you love, hopefully. 

Where do you get inspiration for your stories? 

I approach writing and teaching the same way. If I care about it the reader will care about it. I’ve never been someone to chase what’s popular because that fades. I chase what I’m obsessed with. 

What advice would you give budding writers?

Not everything’s been told. 

Do you have another profession besides writing?

I taught in college for five years. Now, I’m a high school English teacher in Brooklyn. Yes, it’s as glamorous as you think. 

How long have you been writing? 

I’ve been writing since the third grade. I wrote a collection of stories called flash and the ice cream truck during our free play time. Looking back it was kind of sadistic, this kid basically ruined this ice cream truck driver’s career but he got that sweet, sweet ice cream. That’s the moral. 

Do you ever get writer’s block? What helps you overcome it? 

I don’t believe in writer’s block. I think it’s just not knowing where you want to go yet, so a lot of the time I’ll write the ending first so there’s always a green light I’m chasing at the end. 

What is your next project

My next book is called Killstanbul. It’s about an Icelandic contract killer who’s taught his trade by Yule Lads which are little Santa’s. I learned about the lore visiting Reykjavik. If you’re into Holliday, this one is even weirder!

What genre do you write and why? 

Obviously Holliday is historical fiction and that’s something I love. I’ve just started to work on an historical fiction mafia novel, but I’ve never limited myself to one genre. Maybe that’s not the smartest marketing technique but my writing is first and then I worry about the rest. 

What is the last great book you’ve read?

The Guest by Emma Cline. She also went to Columbia for her MFA and I was in awe of her sleek, sexy characters. There’s so much tension in that book even when nothing is happening. Loved it. 

What is a favorite compliment you have received on your writing?

“I can smell it.” If people smell my words it did something right. 

How are you similar to or different from your lead character? 

I’m probably more similar than I’d like to admit, minus the murder and prostitute girlfriend. 

If your book were made into a movie, who would star in the leading roles? 

Oh love this question. Obviously Val Kilmer knocked it out of the park. Timothy Chalomet is already pale enough. But I’d say Ryan Gosling, and Ana de Armas as Kate. She could do the accent well. Is that too mainstream? If Gossling can do Ken he can do Doc. Maybe Tom Hardy as Wyatt.

If your book were made into a movie, what songs would be on the soundtrack? 

Luckily it already has a soundtrack built into the chapter titles! Hollywood life hack.

In one sentence, what was the road to publishing like? 

Cobblestone.

What is one piece of advice you would give to an aspiring author? 

Like 150 people tops are going to know your name. If that’s cool, keep going. 

Which authors inspired you to write? 

Denis Johnson. Garcia Marquez. Cormac McCarthy. Kundera. 

On rituals:

Do you snack while writing? Favorite snack?

Just coffee. Whisky.

Where do you write? 

I take it where I can: desk, train, at work, park bench. 

Do you write every day? 

I want to say yes. Sometimes it’s just a word or two. 

In today’s tech savvy world, most writers use a computer or laptop. Have you ever written parts of your book on paper? 

I have about 20 filled journals and I love writing that way but lately it’s all Apple notes and laptop. How unromantic of me. 

Fun stuff:

Favorite travel spot

Tokyo. Best trip of my life. I think I was supposed to write a book about it now that you mention it…

Favorite dessert

Chocolate chip cookie. Keep it simple. 

What’s the most courageous thing you’ve ever done? 

Became a writer instead of a real estate lawyer like my dad. 

What is something you’ve learned about yourself during the pandemic? 

I used to have a lot of friends. 

What TV series are you currently binge watching? 

Fallout on Amazon Prime. Smart, stylized ultra-violence based on one of my all time favorite video games. It’s exactly what I look for in books and media.

What is a favorite spring holiday tradition (or memory)? 

Dancing around the maypole just seems like good clean fun. 

What song is currently playing on a loop in your head? 

Nirvana, “Where Did You Sleep Last Night?” 

What is something that made you laugh recently? 

Anthony Jeselnik’s new set.

What is the oldest item of clothing you own? 

Still have my “weed smoking” shirt from high school. 

Author bio:

Matthew Di Paoli has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize three times including 2020. He has won the Wilbur & Niso Smith Adventure Writing Prize, the Prism Review, two Elizabeth’s, and Momaya Review Short Story Contests. Matthew earned his MFA in Fiction at Columbia University. He has been published in Boulevard, Fjords, Post Road, and Cleaver, among others. He is also the author of Killstanbul with El Balazo Press.

Website: https://www.matthewdipaoli.com/

Twitter: @MatthewDiPaoli

Instagram: @ruggedemu

Author Marketing Experts:

Twitter: @Bookgal

Instagram: @therealbookgal

Amazonhttp://amzn.to/3U2kRVu

Goodreadshttps://www.goodreads.com/book/show/184163597-holliday

Leave a comment

I’m Dana,

I am a full time Mama and wife, and a part time reader and book reviewer. I love all books, I love reading books, I love hording books, I love gifting books and I love reviewing books. I don’t know if there’s too many books I wouldn’t read, I would at least give it a fair chance. If I didn’t like it, I would still give it a shout out, after all someone worked really hard on that thing.

Let’s connect

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started